NYE 2011

4 Jan

I’m a little late with this post, but better late than never, right? Originally, we had planned to spend the early part of New Years Eve with my family celebrating my aunt’s birthday and then I thought we would come home and be asleep before midnight. However, plans changed with my family and my husband surprised me with late dinner reservations at a fancy restaurant. He didn’t tell me where we were going until we were almost there and I was pleasantly surprised. We went to Saddle Peak Lodge, the same place we went for our anniversary last year! Unfortunately, all I have is cell phone pics, but here’s what we ate:

I had the filet, same as last time. So amazing.

My husband had the wild game trio: wild boar, ostrich, and antelope. A bit more daring of a choice, but equally as delicious. We also shared the pork belly appetizer (oh yum) and the chocolate cake with ice cream (yes thanks). The food is amazing and the service is equally as good. The decor is a bit… quirky. There are animal heads everywhere. However, it’s so unique and cozy we just love it as a romantic splurge.

This was sort of our last hurrah. There’s a good chance we won’t go out for a fancy dinner like this for a very long time, so we decided to live it up. Since we didn’t get back from dinner until almost 11:30, we made it past midnight like the youngsters!

Ew, sorry about the terrible quality of this picture. Here we are ringing in the new year!

I was a party animal with my Martinelli’s!

I really loved the outfit I wore that night, so I’m going to wear it for my weekly bump pictures so you can see. I’m also wearing it to a wedding we’re going to this weekend.

How did you ring in the new year?

2 Responses to “NYE 2011”

  1. Caren January 4, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    Happy New Year Amy! Sounds like you and Mike celebrated in style! I had a mellow, but great evening; Marcus was doing a gig, so after spending the day with Papa (Stella’s granddad) she was tired and went down easily for the night. I was able to indulge with a glass of wine, a yummy dinner of steamed shrimp, polenta and sautéed mushrooms and I watched Water for Elephants 😉 It is a far cry from the “old days” but I was so happy to be at home with my darling daughter asleep in the room next to me. (and Marcus got home safely at 3:30 😉 xoxo

  2. Megan Medley January 4, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    Hey Amy! I can’t wait to hear what the baby name is!! 🙂 Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

