Nursery Update!

5 Jan

It’s not finished, but it’s getting pretty close! Before this room was the nursery, it was a guestroom and it looked like this:

It was a little bit granny, a little bit 7 year old, but it served it’s purpose as occasional guestroom and my laundry area. I used the closet in this room and got ready in here every morning. Once we became pregnant, we started the process of changing it over to the nursery. First, I had to move my clothes into our master bedroom closet. Then, we had to work on flattening the walls. You can’t really see the texture in the above picture, but look here:

Ick, right? The process of removing the texturing is quite long and difficult. With the help of my father-in-law, and several weekends of me nagging and my husband grumbling, it started to disappear:

After the walls were smooth, it was time to choose a paint color, which you can read about here. We chose Benjamin Moore’s Polar Ice and my husband got to painting.

Then, it was time to add trim around the closet and crown molding to the ceiling:

Thanks to my hard working husband and his super helpful dad, the room was painted and ready for furniture by Christmas! This week, my husband put up the picture ledges we’re using as bookshelves, so here’s what it looks like now:

We moved the cowhide rug that Emily gave us from our dining room to the nursery because it wasn’t too practical in the dining room as the chairs would always get caught on it. Plus, we needed a rug for this room and I thought this one would be cute. The picture ledges are from Ikea, as is the rocking moose (which I got two of for Christmas – thanks mom and husband!) and the reading lamp.

The crib was given to us by our neighbor, which I wrote about here. My husband already used the conversion kit from the company to make it a fixed gate crib, so we don’t have to worry about safety issues.

I decided to leave the mirrored closet doors because they make the room look so much bigger and babies love looking at themselves in mirrors.

Want to see some baby clothes cuteness?

Here’s what’s in one half of the closet. The other half still has some of my clothes like my wedding dress and other special occasion dresses that will stay there until… we move? Or I get rid of them? I figure a baby doesn’t need that much closet space and we can put extra supplies up top and in this white dresser that’s completely empty right now.

Cute baby clothes! We actually have much more than this, but this is just the 0-3 and 3-6 month stuff (except that big jacket on the far right) that was either handed down or given to us so far. I know we’ll get many more clothes and I’m pretty proud of myself that the only item of baby clothing that I have purchased is the Raider’s onsie I gave my husband for his birthday.

We’ve been handed down so many adorable baby shoes, including these tiny shark chucks! All of the other bigger shoes and clothes are in a big storage container, organized by size.

Here’s what still needs to be done or purchased for the room:

– Hang curtains – I have the curtains and rods, they just need to be hung and hemmed.

– Obtain dresser for the big empty wall to use as changing table.

– Obtain glider for the corner with the windows.

– Obtain lighting fixture to hang from the ceiling. I’m liking this one or this one.

– Move the tree stump side table from the living room to here next to the glider.

– Add more books to the shelves – should be easy as both of my showers are book-themed.

– Art on the walls – my Northern CA shower will help with this. More details later.

– Make a mobile – I keep changing my mind on what I want to do, so who knows when I’ll finally finish this.

– Make a giant ruler to use as a growth chart.

– Maybe get some toy storage. I really like some toy boxes on wheels with a chalkboard front that my brother has in his room, but I have to convince my mom to give them to us 😉

And I think that’s it! I’m so excited with the progress we’ve made and I can’t wait to see the rest come together.

9 Responses to “Nursery Update!”

  1. Allison Strunka January 5, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    I’m glad you didn’t listen to me and added that bottom shelf, I love it!

    • amyc83 January 6, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      Thanks! So do I 🙂

  2. Jen January 5, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    It looks so cute Amy! I love a lot of the ideas you still have planned and can’t wait to see what the finished product looks like! You’ve certainly made a lot of headway though! 🙂

  3. Michelle January 5, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    It looks SO good! 🙂 This post just reminded me that I need to see what hand me downs I have for you. I got rid of a lot of Carter’s old stuff, but kept the clothes / shoes that were still in good condition, or I really loved. Now that I know I’m not having a boy, I can safely get rid of most of it (except for a few sentimental items). I know we have some cute baby boy shoes that I hope I still have.

    BTW, the book shelfs are adorable, and I also love the cow rug in the room.

  4. Angela Bailey January 5, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    LOVE it!!!

    xo,
    A

    • kelsey@mintedlife January 5, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      It looks so cute!! I can’t wait to see it once you get all the stuff done!

  5. Erin January 5, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    I love seeing Cassius’ old clothes and shoes already up in the baby’s room. Too cute.

Leave a Reply

