Back to Work Blues

9 Jan

After three glorious weeks of winter break, today I go back to work. I’m not happy about it at all, but I know the next 12 weeks will fly by! I hope to work as long as I can and the plan right now is to begin my maternity leave just four days before my due date.

I went to the doctor on Friday and he commented on how relaxed I seemed. I said it was because I had been off for three weeks. Then, he asked if he should “disable” me. So tempting, doc, but I need a couple more months of full pay before the baby comes.

It kind of made me sad that he noticed a difference just from seeing me for five minutes. Am I really that stressed when I’m working? Is it the job or just working, period? What can I do about this? I’ll continue to ponder…

Last night we had a power outage, so my husband declared it pizza and game night!

While I was nervous about preparing for my first day back to work in the dark, it was actually kind of fun… while it lasted. We ate dinner and played one game of yahtzee by candlelight before the power came back on. We decided that we should schedule one night a week of no TV/internet/phones. We can use the lights and appliances, but it’s nice to unplug on a regular basis to enjoy each other’s company. Of course, we’ll have to schedule around our favorite shows and any important sports games.

I hope you have a great week doing whatever it is you do!

2 Responses to “Back to Work Blues”

  1. Angela January 9, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    I’m glad you got to relax during your break! Unplugging is nice! I haven’t been on FB in almost a month and it is AWESOME!!! đŸ™‚ I hope you’re first day back wasn’t too crazy!

    xo,
    A

  2. site May 26, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    Could you email me with a few hints on how you made your website look this good, Id appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

