Hand Me Downs

12 Jan

As an only child and first grandchild (on my mom’s side), I never got many hand me downs growing up. I was always the one going through my closet and handing down things I no longer wanted to my younger cousins or my stepdad’s family in Mexico. My mom called my closet the conveyer belt because I was always getting rid of old things and buying new things. I’m still like that, actually. If I haven’t worn it, used it, looked at it, or thought about it in a year, it’s time for it to go.

We started getting baby things handed down to us almost immediately after we got married, but since we got pregnant and announced the sex of the baby, we’ve been getting more and more. So far, we’ve gotten a jogging stroller, a hiking baby carrier, a baby bjorn (the exact one I registered for in perfect condition – thanks SIL), a stuffed lamb chair (something for a toddler to cuddle up in with a book), a crib (with mattress and two mattress pads), and some clothes/shoes. Many more people have offered to give us things, which we are so thankful for. Who doesn’t love free stuff?

Recently, my friend let me know that she had some clothes, shoes, and other baby things for me if I wanted it. She also gave me her moby wrap and since so many readers commented that it was hard to use, I decided to give it a try. Since we don’t have a really baby yet, I had to try it out with the closest thing around, a fur baby.

 

I think it’s pretty hilarious. Now, I know that an infant will be much different, but I was at least able to get it on correctly and if Ruby wasn’t so eager to eat her dinner, I might have been able to carry her in it for more than 30 seconds.

To be honest, I don’t keep everything that people give us. It’s just too much! We have limited storage space and we are always getting new things as well, so it’s impossible to keep everything that is handed down to us. I like to go through things when I get them and choose the items that are a) in good condition (stains and lots of wear and tear don’t make the cut) and b) our style. Yes, Mr. TTT has a say in what his son will wear and while he usually is a bit of a hoarder, he is pretty picky about clothes for the little guy. Whatever we don’t like or need goes into bags to be donated. It has been so fun hanging up teeny tiny clothes and sorting bigger things into storage containers for later.

Do you get a lot of hand me downs? Do you keep everything or are you picky like I am?

7 Responses to “Hand Me Downs”

  1. Angela Bailey January 12, 2012 at 5:48 am #

    I have hand-me-downs, too! The family I used to nanny for (and we’re still friends with) gave me two baby swings, two bouncers, a stroller, etc. I donated one of the swings and one of the bouncers to a teenager I know who had a baby. I kept the Fisher-Price Starlight Cradle Swing and the VERY pink Fisher-Price bouncer. Even if we do buy a more gender neutral bouncer, this bouncer would be just fine for Grandma’s! 🙂 I know tons of people who have baby clothes for me when I’m ready. I also have a pretty good size cloth diaper stash, including some I’ve bought used on Craigslist and some I’ve earned for doing reviews using Max, the little boy I nanny for. 🙂

    Hand-me-downs are perfect! They keep stuff out of the trash and help people out!

    xo,
    A

    P.S. LOVE that you put Ruby in the Moby! (I don’t think they’re that difficult to use. I just think you have to practice a few times before it becomes second nature!) I put my Petey Pug in a ring sling before. He LOVES it!

  2. Darby Hawley January 12, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    This picture of your fur baby and the moby wrap is awesome! lol

  3. Michelle January 12, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    I’m a little picky about hand-me-downs. I don’t mind furniture, or things that are brand new. Again, I’m weird and a germaphobe and think everything has germs. I’d probably do the same thing and go through the things I want and donate the rest. I have a bunch of Carter’s clothes (mostly older clothes 9 months +). I’ll bring them by next time I see you and you can pick out what you want. How does that sound? Haha.

  4. Nicole turner January 12, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    We get lots of hand me downs too. I don’t keep everything because we get a lot from various people. When the twins were born and I had three boys under 1 year people really felt for us and gave us tons of stuff. I usually kept things until they were out of the size but didn’t put it all in the drawers. I was always afraid of giving something away that I might need especially with three little ones. Mod with Lilly I think I will be even more selective because I also want to buy stuff I like for her.

    By the way if you want to test out you carriers I have four test subjects. 34, 32, 29, and 13 pounds. Feel free to use them as test subjects. My husband is a fan of the baby Bjorne that we got as a hand me down but when they are little I always use the wraps. The baby Bjorne always squished my chest and when I was nursing that was not comfortable.

  5. laura January 12, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    I love that picture of Ruby in the moby thing…soo cute!! i have not received any baby hand me downs (yet) but sure i will and would be picky too…you dont have to love everything just because it was free 😉

  6. Erin January 12, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    You’re too hilarious. It’s actually good you practice now before you’re larger, cuz it may not be very easy then. And you wouldn’t want your first practice to be on the baby.

Leave a Reply

