28 weeks

13 Jan

Oh boy, what a week! I went back to work after three glorious weeks off and while I was dreading it like no other, it wasn’t all that bad. I think I was so traumatized from the last week before winter break with finals and grades and packing up my classroom (they put in new tile floors over break) that I thought it would be just as crazy when I returned. Luckily, it hasn’t been and, while I didn’t prepare as much as I would have liked to over break, everything is going pretty smoothly.

I had my one hour glucose test last Friday morning and I found out today that I just barely failed. My levels were 139 and my doctor’s cutoff is 130, though when I researched a bit online, I found that many doctors cutoff at 140 and that when a doctor goes by the 130 cutoff, there can be false positives. Regardless, I have to go back for the three hour test and since I’m trying to save all my sick days for my maternity leave, I’m taking it on Monday, which is a school holiday (thanks MLK). I’m pretty sad that my nice day off will be ruined with sitting in a dumb lab for three hours, but I have to remember that life could be so much worse.

My belly button is getting wider and flatter by the day. It is still an “innie”, but I can see it changing and it totally freaks me out. So far, no stretch marks, but I’ve had them on my butt and thighs for years, so I know they’ll come in due time. Luckily I have fair skin, so they’re not too noticeable.

I expected to get comments at work about how much bigger I am after not seeing anyone for three weeks, but the kids didn’t say anything! Some staff members, who probably didn’t know I was pregnant before, have asked my due date, so I know that means the bump is much more obvious now than it was three weeks ago.

My husband and I have been trying to go on more walks lately and it’s funny how different my body reacts to exercise now. Before I was pregnant, I’d exercise and feel energized, but now I pretty much collapse after a long walk. Also, my hands get swollen about ten minutes in, which is super fun.

I have a confession: I stalk our registries. It started innocently enough. I’d go on to edit something and notice a new purchase had been made (Christmas gifts from my mom, thanks mommy!). Then, my first shower invitations went out in the mail and the stalking got worse. I just can’t help myself! I did it before our wedding, too. Am I horrible?

Tonight (Wednesday) we went on our hospital tour. I’ll deliver at the same hospital where my mom delivered my brother 10 years ago! Not much has changed, asthetically. I remembered exactly where I had to sit while my mom got her c-section and where she recovered. I remembered looking in at my baby brother in the nursery and rocking him to sleep by the window in my mom’s recovery room. We spent Thanksgiving in that room and ate El Pollo Loco! I’m not sure if the guide was just trying to appease some of the moms, but it seems like the hostipal has some good practices in place: one hour of uninterupted skin to skin contact after birth, unless other interventions are needed, rooming in, and a bed that goes completely vertical to allow for squatting during delivery. It is still a hospital, but it does seem like they are sensitive to each mother’s different wants and needs, which is nice. We actually start our childbirth classes tomorrow (Thursday)!

Sleeping is becoming more and more uncomfortable each night. A few days ago I woke up with terrible pain in one of my legs (sciatica, I’m guessing) and today I had terrible back pain. I have been getting up once a night to go to the bathroom, which isn’t awesome, but it’s much better than the beginning when I was getting up 3-4 times a night. I’m also tossing and turning a lot and trying to keep a pillow in between my legs through it all. I know this is just the beginning of many more sleepless nights to come!

Wish me luck on my three hour glucose test! I’m planning on avoiding extra sugar (cookies, candy, etc) until then and doing a high protein, low carb diet the day before so I can increase my chances of passing. I hope it works!

One Response to “28 weeks”

  1. Michelle January 13, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    Ack! I can’t believe they “just barely” failed you! I know for a fact I was slightly over 130 when I had to take an early gluclose test with my last pregnancy, and she told me she still considered it passing. I’m sure because it’s so marginal you’ll pass the three hour. Try not to stress about it!

Leave a Reply

