29 weeks

20 Jan

This week didn’t start out so great. I started feeling sick with a sore throat and stuffy nose on Sunday morning. We went to Iris anyway, but I felt terrible during my three hour glucose test. I actually made a bed in the waiting room by pushing three chairs together because I could not sit up without feeling like I was going to vomit or pass out. I actually almost did throw up about 30 minutes before my last blood draw, but when the tech told me I’d have to redo the entire thing if I did, I tried my best to breathe through it and made it until the end. I celebrated with lunch from McDonald’s afterwards, which didn’t make me feel any better. I haven’t heard back about the results yet, but when I do, I’ll be sure to post them. Keep your fingers crossed for a PASS!

I haven’t taken a single sick day this whole school year, which is very unusual for me. This week, however, my body just wasn’t recovering as quickly as I would have liked, so I took two days to rest and recouperate. I’m back at work today and while I know I’m better enough to be here, it is so hard teaching with even the end of a cold. It’s hard to talk and stand for even short periods of time. I’m even noticing that I’m having a lot of trouble focusing and I can’t seem to remember some of students’ names! I hope I’m back to normal next week, but thankful I only have to get through a day and a half until the weekend.

A couple of nights ago, I woke up in the middle of the night with a terrible cramp in the side of my stomach. It felt like a charlie horse that you might get in your leg, but it was on the side of my belly. I tried to stretch it out and change positions and eventually it went away, but it kind of freaked me out. Was it a muscle cramp? Was the baby doing something strange in there? Contraction? I have no idea. I called the doctor just to make sure it wasn’t anything to worry about and he said if I was worried I could come in, but if not, than not to. I wasn’t really worried because it just happened that once and I knew to only freak out if things like that happen over and over again (like contractions).

The packages have been rolling in and we’re started to accumulate quite a few baby things! It’s exciting getitng everything set up and figuring out how to use it all, but also kind of scary that everything is happening so fast. I’m waiting for that time to come when I’m ready for the pregnancy to be over because right now I just want time to slow down a bit.

We are starting to get serious about getting new cars before the baby comes. I have a two door honda accord and my husband has a chrysler 300. He drives a lot for work, so he needs something with lower gas milage, but still four doors. We also need a small SUV because we need to be able to have the baby and the dogs in the car at the same time. If we go to his parents’ house, which we do quite often, we always bring the dogs and in an SUV they can be in the very back while the baby is in the back seat. I’m kind of addicted to hondas, I’ve owned three honda accords in my life, so I want a CR-V and my husband is thinking about getting a four door civic. We’re hoping we can trade in both of our cars for one car and just finance the other car so we end up with only one car payment, which is the way things are now. I originally thought we’d get a used CR-V, but I recently checked out the 2012 ones online and some pretty awesome things come standard on the base model. Unfortunately, the base models don’t come in until mid-February, so we have to wait a bit longer if we go that route. Ali helped me out a ton on twitter the other day with her entensive knowledge about how to get the best deal on a car, so I’m sure I’ll be bugging her a lot more as we get closer to making a purchase.

Tonight we had our second childbirth class. We decided to take classes through the hospital because they are the most affordable and convenient. I really like the teacher, who is a doula (major plus in my crunchy granola handbook). Our first class, which was actually the second class because we joined a week late due to their screwed up website, was interesting, but left us feeling like maybe we had studied up a little too much on all this stuff beforehand. I was the annoying know-it-all who answered all the teacher’s questions and my husband was bored because he also knew all the answers, but is less of a teacher’s pet. It was still nice to have the things we thought we knew confirmed, though. This week we practiced pushing techniques and it was nice to get some physical practice. We have three more weeks of childbirth classes, then we’ll start the infant care classes, which includes CPR. They also offer a free breastfeeding class, which I’d like to take closer to the end of my pregnancy so the information is fresh in my mind when I have the baby.

Speaking of the end, I’ve been telling people that I’m almost 7 months pregnant for the last two weeks, but I just checked this chart and I’m actually almost at the end of my seventh month. What? One more week until I’m eight months pregnant??? That’s crazy!

7 Responses to “29 weeks”

  1. Angela Bailey January 20, 2012 at 7:29 am #

    I hope you fully recuperate over the weekend!! Rest up while you still can!

    xo,
    A

    • amyc83 January 20, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      Thanks, I will!

  2. Meg Medley January 20, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Feel better!! I still haven’t gotten the 411 from that mom I told you about but hopefully she’ll email me soon…I’ll let you know either way though!

  3. Jesica January 20, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    When I started getting anxious my midwife recommended a book called Ina Mays Guide to Childbirth. There are several birth stories that all were completely different and gave mencinfidence in what I was about to embark on. I never read the whole book (which is nice because you can skip around if youd like) but i highly reccomend you check it out. Totally worth your time and may help you get into a better head space.

    Ps I still have my Honda and a 2door is such an inconvenience. Selling my car and getting a small suv is high on my list (right after taking more maternity leave)!

    • amyc83 January 20, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      I have that book, too! I haven’t started it yet because I feel so overwhelmed with work, but I’m going to start skimming through this weekend. Thanks for the tip!

      Are you going to be able to take more mat leave?

  4. Cary Bromfield March 22, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

    If you’ve ever had muscle spasms or muscle cramps, you know they can be extremely painful. In some cases, a muscle may spasm so forcefully that it results in a bruise on the skin. Most muscle spasms and cramps are involuntary contractions of a muscle. A serious muscle spasm doesn’t release on its own and requires manual stretching to help relax and lengthen the shortened muscle. Spasms and cramps can be mild or extremely painful. While they can happen to any skeletal muscle, they are most common in the legs and feet and muscles that cross two joints (the calf muscle, for example). ;

    Our favorite blog page
    <'http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/l-leucine-benefits/

Leave a Reply

