30 weeks

27 Jan

Wowsers. 30 weeks. Only 10 weeks left. On Monday, I’ll officially be 8 months pregnant.

My neighbor gave me a bag of her old maternity clothes  the other day and to be honest, I wasn’t expecting any of them to work. She is tiny and most of them she wore with her first pregnancy which was around 5 years ago. However, there were a few things that I just love! These black pants are SO comfortable and they’re quite dressy. As a teacher, I can get by wearing jeans most days, but it is nice to have the option to dress up if I need to. Plus, these pants are more comfortable than jeans! I went over today to thank her and she said they were originally $200! Holy moly! I’m glad to get some more wear out of them! This shirt is also from her. Yay for new FREE clothes!

Lots more back pain and swelling lately. At some point in the middle of the day, my back starts hurting and it usually doesn’t stop until I go home and lay down for a bit. By the end of the day my feet and hands are also a little swollen, which is annoying. None of it is terrible, but I know it’ll only get worse.

I’m always tired. I am still sleeping pretty well at night, only getting up once to go to the bathroom and going right back to sleep, but I’m still always tired. My friend Nicole told me that pregnant tired is different than regular tired. I know I’ll be sleep deprived and exhausted after the baby comes, but she said she always felt better after a good night’s sleep, whereas when she was pregnant, it didn’t matter how much she slept, she was always tired. Yep, that’s about right! Good thing I’m a lazy bum at heart and laying around all the time 😉

I found out last Friday that I passed my three hour glucose test! Hooray! I was so relieved. We also had an appointment with the perinatologist this week, or what I like to call, baby photo shoot. We didn’t get any 3D pictures this time and the ultrasound tech wasn’t as good as the one we had last time at our 20 week appointment, but it was nice to know that everything is still looking good! He is measuring a tad big, but not enormous, which doesn’t surprise me. He is head up, but the doctor said he should flip by 34 weeks. I’ve been doing pelvic tilts to try to increase the changes of that. He also said I should come back in four weeks, just to check the baby’s growth and position, but I’m not sure my insurance will authorize that. They originally denied this appointment, but both the perinatologist’s office and my OB’s office pleaded with them to approve it, so they did (after my original appointment, but at least they approved it and I was able to reschedule).

Now that I know he’s head up, I can identify body parts and movements a little better. It’s weird though, I still only feel hiccups down low. Not quite sure what that’s about…

We had another childbirth class tonight and did some breathing exercises, massage techniques, and watched a video about epidurals. The video wasn’t my favorite. I know I’m naive, but the whole epidural process scares me more than the pain of labor. Just the idea of a needle going into my spine totally freaks me out. I guess I’m glad I saw it because I learned about how the area is numbed first, then the needle is inserted part of the way, then a catheter is inserted and the needle is removed. One important thing I learned was that it takes 4 hours for the epidural medication to cross the placenta, so if I’m going to get one, the later I get it, the better. But then again, not too late, because then it will be harder to push… So much to consider!

This weekend, my friend is taking some maternity pictures of me! I’m glad we’re doing it now before I feel too huge and ugly. I really want to get my makeup done before we take pictures, but we’ll see.

What are your plans for the weekend?

2 Responses to “30 weeks”

  1. Michelle January 27, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    I’m so excited to take pictures of you this weekend! Your bump looks a lot bigger to me than last weeks post, I think it’s a good time to take them. You look great!!

    I totally agree about waiting as long as you can if you decide to get an epidural. That was my big regret, I did it really early, and had a mini melt down at the end of the day (not because of the crossing the placenta window, but because I was so tired of being numb). If I go the vbac route, I know I will wait until the pain is unbearable before getting one. And I was super scared about the whole needle situation, but it was very easy and pain free!

  2. Sarah S. January 28, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Holy smokes! Beautiful belly 🙂

Leave a Reply

