31 weeks

3 Feb

Officially 8 months pregnant! My friend Michelle took my maternity pictures of me on Sunday and I just got the CD today, so I’ll blog them soon! It was fun to pretend to be a model for a few hours and we had a yummy dinner after.

Tomorrow, I’m going up North for my first baby shower! This one is hosted by my Aunts Kerry and Jeanne and all the guests will be from my mom’s side of the family who live in Fresno and San Francisco. I’m excited to see everyone and enjoy the party!

I’m so tired right now. It’s way later than my typical bed time and after work, therapy, and childbirth class, I’m pooped! I guess that’s something to be included in my weekly post: I’m more and more tired/large/achy/swollen each day. But, I still love being pregnant and I know I’m going to miss it.

Childbirth class is quite eye opening. The scariest thing we learned tonight was that the internal fetal monitor that is sometimes used during labor is actually screwed into the baby’s head. We even saw one of the actual monitors and it is literally a tiny metal corkscrew with a sharp end that goes into the baby’s scalp. Yikes! I’m not a fan.

Have you been reading my posts on Hellobee? You can catch up on all of them here.

What else? Did I mention I’m tired? Goodnight.

5 Responses to “31 weeks”

  1. Erin February 3, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    During my labor, the fetal monitor was having having lots of difficulties staying in place and picking up a heartbeat. There were several times it sent the nurses into a tizzy that really frightened us. Once I was fully dialated and waiting to push the doctor suggested an internal fetal monitor because they didn’t want me to push for too long since it had appeared that he had been stressed the entire induction. I agreed to it, but was still concerned about the screw and his little baby head. Once it was connected, the monitor showed that his heartrate was fine, he wasn’t stressed, and it really gave me a good piece of mind before I started pushing.

    Definately, if everythign is going well, don’t use it. But if things are showing problems, you may not want to rule it out.

  2. Erin February 3, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    BTW, love the posts on HelloBee, sorry I don’t reply very often, but I am reading. You and my google reader are my guilty pleasure. Keep it up!!!

    • amyc83 February 3, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      Yay! Thank you so much!!

      Yeah, I know that if we really need it we’ll consent, but I’m pretty distrubed after looking at it up close. I always thought it was a little suction cup or sticker or something that stuck to the baby’s head, not a screw!

  3. Michelle February 3, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    Omigosh, I had no idea about the internal fetal monitor being SCREWED into the baby’s head. Wow. I don’t remember having an internal fetal monitor while in labor with Carter but I guess it’s possible.

    Congrats on being 8 months pregnant! I can’t believe how fast time really does fly. Liam will be here before we know it. Holy cow. I definitely missed being pregnant as soon as it was over, and I’m sure I’ll feel the same way after this one is born.

    I’m kinda addicted to Hellobee now. I was only going to check in on you, and now I look forward to reading all the posts by everyone.

    • amyc83 February 3, 2012 at 9:31 am #

      Our instructor said they use it when they can’t get a good read on the baby’s heart rate with an external monitor. I think it’s pretty common because I’ve heard about it many times, but I always assumed it was a suction or sticky thing, not a screw. It definitely freaked me out.

      I’m glad you’re liking Hellobee! I was so addicted to Weddingbee for a while – I would refresh it multiple times a day to see new posts! Hellobee has fewer posts a day, which is a lot easier to keep up with. I’m working on the photo post now!

Leave a Reply

