32 weeks

9 Feb

On Tuesday, it rained here in LA. While I was getting dressed that morning, I said to my husband that I really wished I could wear sweats to work. I didn’t, but when I got to work, I found out it was pajama day. I’m a high school teacher, so we have spirit weeks with dress up days every semester. I was so bummed when I found out that I could have worn sweats that day and it would have been totally acceptable! This is what I would have worn that day if I had known. Comfy shirt, sweat pants, and rain boots.

I’ve noticed people staring at my belly lately. I think this must be what it’s like to have abnormally large breasts, or something. People’s eyes just go straight to the belly. I think it’s funny.

We had our last childbirth class this week and, while I learned a lot and am really glad we went, I’m glad it’s over. The class was every Thursday from 7-9pm and that’s just too late for me on a week night. I know that it has to start late for people who work regular hours, but for a teacher like me, it would have been nice if it was 5-7 or 6-8pm instead.

Sometimes I forget how big my belly is and I bump into things with it. A lot of people say I look small, but I think they’re just being nice because every time I catch my profile in the mirror, I’m shocked at how huge I am. The number on the scale is also really scary.

This week has been really busy with errands and appointments after work. I’m so ready to sleep in on Saturday and then for my big shower on Sunday! It’s going to be so fun. Things should slow down a bit next week, which is good because I can feel the effects of all the stress. Tonight, during a particularly stressful craigslist situation (we’re probably getting a dresser tomorrow), my vision went blurry. This has been a sign of an impending migraine for me in the past, so I got really nervous, especially because I can’t take medication to stop it before it starts. I started feeling better at the end of the night, so hopefully I’ll be ok tomorrow!

I haven’t put away anything from last weekend’s shower yet, so after Sunday, the nursery is going to look like a war zone. I will definitely have to set aside some time to sort through everything and get it organized so we can figure out what else we need to buy before little Liam’s arrival. Less that 8 weeks until my due date! Crazy.

2 Responses to “32 weeks”

  1. Amanda February 10, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    I’m a nurse so I just have to say it. You probably already know this but if you keep getting blurry vision be sure to go see your doctor, it can be a sign of pre-eclampsia (aka pregnancy induced hypertension). You look really great by the way and I love reading your blog. Hope I didn’t sound too preachy, I’m sure you get tons of unsolicited advice. Have a great shower.

    • amyc83 February 13, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      Thanks for the concern! I was just at the doctor Monday where they tested my bloog pressure and urine for protein and everything was normal, so I think I’m ok. I go back next Monday, so I’ll mention it just to be safe, but I’m almost positive it’s stress related. It used to happen to be all the time before I was pregnant due to stress.

Leave a Reply

