Happy Presidents Day!

20 Feb

It’s unusual for my husband to have these Monday holidays off with me, so we’re taking advantage of the extra time by getting lots and lots of stuff done. Only 6 more weeks until my due date (!!!) and we’re feeling the pressure to get everything ready for baby Liam’s arrival. Here’s our weekend:

Saturday…

my husband cleaned the house and made breakfast

we went to Ikea for a light fixture and spare parts for the dresser

I organized shower gifts while my husband sanded/fixed the dresser

so many books! I thought this was all of them, but found about 8 more after I took this picture.

we had friends over, went to lunch and the plant store

I took my stepsister to work, picked up my brother, and traded cars with my mom

I picked up the rocking chair from the upholsterer

my brother painted his canvas (more on this project soon)

takeout and a movie for dinner

Sunday (after a terrible night’s sleep)

we stained the dresser

dogs painted a canvas

husband painted a canvas

we went to lunch at a new place

we had this yummy platter of meat, cheese, bread, and spread from a French restaurant that just opened nearby – delish!

went to Babies R Us to return/exchange/purchase some items (wasn’t a very fun experience and my husband has sworn never to go back)

more organizing in the nursery while my husband worked on the dresser

my husband left for a work event and I ate leftover takeout

graded papers and early to bed

Plans for Monday…

my husband will finish the dresser and do yard work

more organizing for me!

Target for essentials

start packing hospital bags (feels too early still, but I can write a post about it and just pack the things I won’t be using until then)

OBGYN appointment

either a movie (I really want to see The Descendants) or more organizing

more grading

WHEW! I’m tired just thinking about it all. Nesting is a funny thing: once you get the urge, you just can’t stop. I’m really excited that the nursery will be done in the next couple of weeks and can’t wait for Michelle to take pictures of it for us!

2 Responses to “Happy Presidents Day!”

  1. Amy February 20, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    I LOVE the book wall! Turned out so awesome! 🙂

  2. tocontributeaverse February 20, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I also love the bookwall! I just saw The Descendants last night. Don’t want to prejudice you but it’s sooo depressing. You might still like it (my friend Roxy, who came with me, did), but I just left bummed. G’luck with all your plans today!

Leave a Reply

