And now we wait…

19 Mar

Let the waiting games begin!

On Friday, we went back to the perinatologist and found out that all my resting a drinking has paid off and my fluid levels have increased. They’re still low, but not dangerously so, which means little Liam can stay put for a bit longer.

We also finished the nursery and my dear friend Michelle took pictures of it on Saturday! Now that it’s done, I’m not sure I know what to do with myself. It was all I thought about for so long and now it’s ready for a baby!

I have a few more papers to grade, but I’m hoping to be able to drop those off at work on Tuesday, just in case the baby comes early because I know once he is here, grading papers is the last thing I’ll want to do.

I’ve been having contractions just about every day, but nothing huge or consistent. They feel like bad menstrual cramps, so I hope they are working to get my body ready for labor. Now that I can’t work, I feel like I’m wasting time off without spending it taking care of the baby, so I’m anxious for him to arrive, whereas I wasn’t so ready when I was still working. I’ve decided that if I’m dilated at least 2 cm, I’ll consider an induction before my due date (which is in just two weeks!), but if I’m tightly closed or just at a 1, I don’t want to induce because I worry that it might lead to a c-section in that case. I see my OB this afternoon, so I’ll likely have a better idea of my progress and options after that.

This week, I plan to go out to lunch with friends, meet my husband on his lunch break to visit my favorite burger joint, Umami burger, and enjoy some alone time before everything changes. If we don’t have the baby by the weekend, I hope to be able to score tickets to see The Hunger games, as I’ve recently gotten hooked on the books. I finished the first one really fast, but I’m trying to pace myself through the second and third because I want to make them last.

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite pictures from the nursery shoot this weekend, taken by Michelle.

5 Responses to “And now we wait…”

  1. allikap March 19, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    Hooray for a fluid level increase! Just curious, why would you opt to induce, even if you are at 2 centimeters, if the doctors have said there isn’t a need right now?

    • amyc83 March 19, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      Because I feel like I’m wasting time off without him here. I go back to work mid August, regardless of when he’s born, so the sooner he’s here, the more time I’ll have off with him. Also, it makes me a little nervous that he might not be in the best environment with my improved, but still low fluids. I’m not saying I’ll induce for sure, but I am feeling more open to it than I was before.

      • allikap March 19, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

        I see. Maternity leave is a b*tch isn’t it. I think it’s good that you are open to possibilities, if needed. I am working on feeling more open to “unplanned” things in my last few weeks of pregnancy.

  2. Sarah S. March 19, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    I’m so happy for you! Just a year ago I was reading about all your up’s and downs about getting pregnant and now… here you are! Congratulations! Woo Hoo!!!

Leave a Reply

