2 weeks

13 Apr

Liam had a big week! He got to hang out with his grandparents, aunt, and cousins on Saturday, the same day he met the dogs for the first time!

We celebrated Easter on Sunday at home with a visit from Grammy, Abuelo, and Tio Mateo. Liam got his first Easter basket and we dyed eggs between feedings.

That note from my brother definitely made me cry.

I had bought an outfit for Liam to wear on Easter, but it was way too big (he’s still in newborn clothes and I had bought it in 0-3).

So, he wore an animal onsie instead.

Gah! Such a cutie.

We gave in to the pacifier this week because he gets so fussy at night and I can only handle so many hours of nursing in a row – last night he went about three hours just going from boob to boob and I cried. I try to always nurse when he wants to because he didn’t gain as much weight as he should have at his last doctor’s appointment. Actually, I suspect he did, but he peed right before he was weighed, so that made him a couple ounces lighter – just enough to put him barely under the one ounce per day weight gain average. The doctor told me I should start pumping to increase my supply, so I have been, but I’m not a fan. It’s just so much work!

My husband goes back to work on Monday and I’m terrified. How will I eat? Or pee? It’s going to be tricky…

3 Responses to “2 weeks”

  1. kelsey@mintedlife April 14, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    I promise it gets better with the nursing. Elliott was the same way with the nursing and I was exhausted and so sore. But, all that nursing helps to build your supply. And, she was also just under the weight they wanted her to gain at 2 weeks so I felt awful but a week later she gained more than an ounce a day. You’re doing great. And you eat w a baby in your arms 🙂 and pee while he is in the swing.

  2. Jessica April 14, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    He really is adorable! I love the note from your brother, definitely hang on to that. So sweet.

    I hope nursing gets better for you! Maybe if your supply increases, he’ll get more at feedings and wont bug you as often to eat. Not sure how you feel about using a bottle but if you pump, you could give him your milk from a bottle if you’re too sore?

    Good luck mama! Kiss that cute guy for me. 🙂

  3. Michelle York April 14, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    He is so adorable! I can’t wait to see him tomorrow. Nursing is definitely exhausting work, I have no advice for you, except that you are doing a wonderful job. Xoxo.

Leave a Reply

