4 weeks

28 Apr

This week we got more into a sort of routine. Typically, Liam wakes up between 6:30 and 8am. I change him, then feed him on one side and am able to put him down while I eat breakfast. Then I feed him on the other side while lying down next to him and we both fall back asleep until 10 or 11. Then, I feed him again, change his diaper and get him dressed for the day. Then, we do some tummy time in his crib, but he only makes it a few minutes before getting whiny. Then I try to get dressed and brush my teeth, but he’s usually crying most of the time, which makes me feel super rushed. I feel like I wear the same outfit every day because I never have time to figure out something new to wear. Once I’m ready-ish, I change his diaper and feed him again before heading out on some sort of errand. I like to get out of the house at least once a day because he likes the car and that way I get a bit of a break while driving. Funny how driving is now a break for me. After that, the day looses most of it’s continuity. I sneak food for myself when I can, he eats a lot more, I change a lot more diapers, my husband comes home and usually we eat dinner while I’m nursing.

Our favorite new activity has been our every other nightly daddy baths. My husband loves taking a bath with Liam and it is so adorable. Since the evening is the baby’s fussiest time, this gives my husband a few minutes of bonding time when the baby isn’t crying or nursing. After his bath, I nurse him again and we watch a little TV in bed before going to sleep. We’ve been co-sleeping because it is just so much easier, especially with breast feeding. Many people say that no bad habits can be formed in the first three months, so hopefully we’ll be able to get him sleeping on his own eventually. For now, we do what we can to survive.

Luckily, he doesn’t cry when he wakes up, just sort of nuzzles into me and grunts, so my husband doesn’t always get woken up. I can nurse him laying down on one side only, but I have to sit up and use my breast feeding pillow for the other side. This has done a number on my back and some days I can barely pick him up or put him down in his bassinet or crib. I have an appointment with my doctor next week to hopefully get a handle on it before it gets worse.

Liam is my angel baby is the mornings. He is so sweet and adorable and I just can’t get enough of him. As breast feeding gets easier each week, caring for him also gets easier. I can usually tell by his cry if he’s hungry or needs a diaper change or is gassy, so that helps take the mystery out of things. However, planning outings, like going to a birthday party or out to lunch, is getting trickier as he is awake more and more. And if he’s awake, he usually wants to nurse…

We found a new pediatrician this week, which is such a relief. He said his weight is just fine and now I don’t have to stress about my milk production. It’s really hard for me to find time to pump, but now I don’t feel pressured to have to do it  frequently, just whenever I feel like I have a chance.

I can’t believe Liam is one month old on Monday! I’m going to try to write a letter to him, especially after reading this one because I know both he and I will enjoy looking back on it one day.

One Response to “4 weeks”

  1. Michelle York April 30, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Ohmigosh, I love the 2nd picture! He looks so adorable with the little O mouth. Love it! I’m so glad you found a new pediatrician that you like too. And you know my thoughts on co-sleeping, especially in the very beginning. It’s so much more convenient when you’re nursing. We just ended up co-sleeping a little longer than I thought (as you know) and now Carter is happily in his own bed without any transition period. He went when he was ready. I’m hoping to be more diligent about getting number two to sleep alone (after 3ish months), but I’m not sweating it. Carter is 2.5 years-old, and we still do what we need to do to survive, haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

