7 weeks

20 May

Oh my gosh he’s so cute I can’t stand it! We celebrated my first Mother’s Day this week with brunch at Grammy’s restaurant and a lazy afternoon at home. Liam slept five hours straight the night before Mother’s Day and repeated it a couple times later in the week. I’m debating trying out a schedule during the day to see if that will help him sleep longer during the night, but I’m also enjoying our unscheduled life, so I haven’t decided yet.

We’re going on longer and more frequent walks because I’m feeling the need to get my body back. Liam usually sleeps because he likes the movement, but if I stop to take a drink of water, he’ll start whining. He’s the same way in the car and will usually wake up at stop lights or in d rive thru lines.

Liam survived time away from me twice this week: once with his dad while I got my hair cut and once with Grammy while I tutored. I was a nervous wreck both times, but all went well.

I’m trying to get him to spend more time on his tummy so he can work on his head control, but he doesn’t like it very much, so I try to do 10 minutes here and there when he’s in a good mood. Sometimes he does it in his crib and sometimes on a blanket on the floor. We’re going to turn the office/guestroom into a playroom of sorts and we want to get one of those foam play mats, so that will be good for tummy time (I’ve read that the harder surface of the foam mat helps with learning to crawl). Once he’s 8 weeks I’d like to join a mommy and me class, but they’re pretty expensive, so we’ll have to see if we can afford it.

I’ve finally started pumping more regularly, usually in the morning when he falls asleep for his long nap. Since we give him a small bottle every other night, on those days I pump for that and on the other days I pump for the freezer stash. On June 1st I have to work for just one day so I can get paid over the summer, so I need to continue building our freezer stash so my husband has enough milk. I’m still planning on coming home for lunch to nurse, though, so it won’t be that bad. Then, I’ll have the whole summer to build a stash for when I go back to work (sob).

It’s still really hard to find time to blog – he’s asleep on my chest right now – but hopefully it will get easier with time.

I hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

2 Responses to “7 weeks”

  1. amandavaughntherapy May 20, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    His face has changed so much! Adorable as always!

  2. Yuliana May 20, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    I love his smile!

Leave a Reply

