Heart Broken

19 Dec

I’m so heart broken over the events of last Friday. As a parent, I’m devastated for the families and as a teacher, I’m so proud of the heroes. I’ve never feared school shootings, even though several have occurred since I’ve been a teacher and while I was a student because I knew that I’d just do what I had to do to protect my students. However, now I can’t imagine sending Liam to school. If something were to happen to him, I don’t know how I’d go on…

Life is so fragile. I’ve been reminded of this a lot lately. Two weeks ago, one of my colleagues fell while hiking and has severe brain injuries. She is now awake and talking a bit, but she has a long road of recovery ahead. She also has a one and a half year old.

The day after that accident, my mom, stepdad, and brother were all in a bad car accident. Everyone is ok, thankfully, but when I pulled up to pick them up and saw the car, my heart sank. I could have lost my whole family that day.

3 Responses to “Heart Broken”

  1. kelsey@mintedlife December 21, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry about your family. I’m so glad to hear that everyone is ok. I can’t even read the coverage because it hurts me too much, and I can’t stop giving E kisses because I know I’m so lucky to have her in my life.

    • amyc83 December 21, 2012 at 6:17 am #

      Thank you! Same here – it’s so upsetting. I have definitely been cherishing every second with Liam!

  2. tocontributeaverse December 21, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Seriously. What a heart wrenching story…It still feels surreal to me, but I’m sure when I am a parent it will hit home far more than it even did for me. It’s almost too much to fathom. Glad your family is okay. Hope your colleague makes a complete recovery!

Leave a Reply

